​​​​​​2016 ISSEI conference 

The University of Lodz, Poland

Emergency Telephone Numbers:

112 – general emergency number
999 – Ambulance
998 – Fire Brigade
997 – Police 

English speaking assistance is not guaranteed but mostly available.

Currency & Prices:

Basic Polish Vocabulary

Basic information:

Population in 2014
Poland (Polska)           – 38.5 million
Warsaw (Warszawa)    – 1.72 million
Cracow (Kraków)        – 759,000
Lodz (Łódź)                – 708,000 

Territory of Poland – 312,685 sq. km.  (9th largest country in Europe)
Longest river: Vistula (Wisła) – 1047 km.
Highest peak: Rysy in Tatra Mountain – 2499 m.
Deepest lake: Hancza Lake (Masuria) – 108 m. 

Local time:


Poland is in Central European (CET) time zone – GMT London + 2hrs 

When it is 12.00 p.m. in Łódź then in:
Los Angeles: 3.00 a.m.
New York: 6.00 a.m.
London: 10.00 a.m.
Jerusalem: 1.00 p.m.
Moscow: 2.00 p.m.
Beijing: 7.00 p.m.
Sydney: 10.00 p.m.


Electricity:

Poland is beautiful: 

The Polish currency is the złoty, and 1 złoty = 100 groszy. For current money exchange rates please check Yahoo Currency Converter.


VISA & Mastercard credit cards are commonly accepted. Exchange can be made in special offices (kantor) and in all major banks.

Here are some everyday products/services and prices. Market values as of November 5, 2015, based on €1 = 4.23zł and $1 = 3,90zł.

Electricity in Poland is 230V, 50Hz AC. Plug sockets are round with two round-pin sockets. If you are from the UK, Ireland or the USA , you will need an electric adaptor, which you should bring with sou. You can also get at your hotel, or buy it in Łódź’s main  shopping malls. 

About Poland

Everything you always wanted to know about Poland, but you were afraid to ask: